Sorry about not posting yesterday; was out basically the entire day.

Anyways, I promised I’d post this. Mozart’s final – and possibly greatest – gift to us all: his beloved Requiem, the one that reputedly drove the great composer to his death at the all-too-young age of 32.

Basically the Requiem is a celebrated repose of the deceased, and through time many composers have set its words into music. Perhaps, however, none is as famous as Wolfgang Amadeus’ rendition. It ranges from joyous-sounding to the more morose, and it’s music like this, though Christian in nature, that transcends religion and belief.

It’s split into many different sections, as such the entire movement is actually rather long. They are, in order:

  1. Introitus
  2. Kyrie
  3. Sequence: a. Dies irae b. Tuba mirum c. Rex tremendae d. Recordare e. Confutatis f. Lacrimosa
  4. Offertory: a. Domine Jesu Christe b. Hostias
  5. Sanctus
  6. Benedictus
  7. Agnus Dei
  8. Lux Aeterna

The whole thing is sung in Latin, as per the original text.

The entire movement was performed by the Monteverdi Choir and the English Baroque Soloists, conducted by John Eliot Gardiner at the Palau de la Musica Catalana, Barcelona in December, 1991.

To kick the entire thing off I’ve put in the parts Introitus to Dies Irae. You can look up the rest by clicking on the videos (preferably in order) after the ones I’ve posted run their course.

Introitus & Kyrie

Dies Irae

So yep, enjoy. Good evening!~